You are here

May 12, 2014 Board of Education Annual Meeting Minutes

May 12, 2014


The Annual Meeting of the qualified voters of the Parishville-Hopkinton Central School District was held in the school house in Parishville on the above date. The meeting was called to order at 7:47 P.M. Eastern Daylight Savings Time by Stefanie Hartson, Acting School District Clerk, who read the call of the meeting.


The Acting Clerk appointed Ward Remington as Permanent Chairperson of the meeting.


The Permanent Chairperson appointed Elizabeth Beha as Chief Election Inspector and Margaret Zahler, Josephine Eakins, and Etta Phelix as Election Inspectors for the 2014-2015 Budget Vote and Election of Board Members. Further, the Permanent Chairperson appointed Frances Hazelton and Shirley Clark as Alternate Election Inspectors should one or more of the aforementioned individuals be unable to serve on May 20th.


The Permanent Chairperson appointed Darin Saiff and/or Stefanie Hartson to serve as Acting Chairpersons during his absence on Tuesday, May 20, 2014, for voting on the budget and school bus financing propositions, as well as school board members. It was noted that there are two (2) vacancies on the Board of Education for the five-year terms of Heidi Condon Simmons and Fred Wilhelm. Petitions for Member of the Board of Education have been completed by Heidi Condon Simmons, Joseph McGill, and Corey Sheldon. It was noted that voting is at large with the two candidates receiving the most votes to be elected.


At this point in the meeting, Mr. Saiff would normally present the 2013-2014 Annual Report and review the Proposed Budget for 2014-2015; however, no one from the community was in attendance; therefore, the presentation was not given.


Permanent Chairperson Ward Remington asked if anyone had any questions regarding the proposed budget or other items of concern. Since questions were not indicated, W. Remington stated that voting on the budget and board member vacancies would take place the following Tuesday, May 20, 2014, between the hours of 1:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M. It was noted that each person should vote for two (2) candidates.


Motion made by D. Saiff and seconded by S. Hartson to adjourn the meeting until 1:00 P.M. on Tuesday, May 20, 2014, when the polls would be opened for voting until 8:00 P.M.


The meeting was adjourned at 7:48 P.M.





School District Clerk




12 County Route 47
Parishville, NY 13672
Phone: 315-265-4642
Fax: 315-268-1309

Mission Statement:
The PHCS community strives to instill in all students the knowledge and skills necessary to become caring, conscientious, and creative citizens.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer