You are here

May 8, 2017 Board of Education Annual Meeting Minutes

May 8, 2017


The Annual Meeting of the qualified voters of the Parishville-Hopkinton Central School District was held in the school house in Parishville on the above date. The meeting was called to order at 7:30 P.M. Eastern Daylight Savings Time by James Young School District Clerk, who read the call of the meeting.


The School District Clerk appointed Timothy Zellweger as Permanent Chairperson of the meeting.


The Permanent Chairperson appointed Elizabeth Beha as Chief Election Inspector and Chloe Ann O’Neil, Frances Hazelton, and Etta Phelix as Election Inspectors for the 2017-2018 Budget Vote and Election of Board Members.


The Permanent Chairperson appointed Wayne Walbridge and/or Stefanie Latimer to serve as Acting Chairpersons during his absence on Tuesday, May 16, 2017, for voting on the budget proposition, bus financing resolution, as well as two school board members. It was noted that there are two (2) vacancies on the Board of Education for the five-year terms of Ward Remington and Robert White. Petitions for Member of the Board of Education have been completed by Eric Alan, Nicholas Gilbert, Amy Guiney, Ward Remington, and Jeffrey Yette. It was noted that voting is at large with the two candidates receiving the most votes to be elected.


The Permanent Chairperson introduced Eric Alan, Amy Guiney, Jeffrey Yette, Ward Remington, and Nicholas Gilbert. The five gave brief introductions of themselves and what they felt they could bring the District as Board members.


Mr. Walbridge presented the 2016-2017 Annual Report and reviewed the Proposed Budget for 2017-2018. Mr. Walbridge stated to the roughly thirty attending community members and eight board members that we have had a successful school year in regard to budget management. Though over one million was appropriated from fund balance, just over $200,000 was applied. He explained that District budgets such a great deal of money to plan for unforeseen circumstances that could arise during the year, which could drain the budget depending on the scenario. For instance, Mr. Walbridge said, there was an unanticipated expense of $22,134 for the washroom leak. He noted that there was an unallocated fund balance of 2.1% (approximately $241,000) – about half of what is allowed by New York State. Mr. Walbridge reviewed the local tax levy, voting history, budget factors, expected increases, a full value tax rate comparison, the financing of a school bus, and a summary of the proposed 2017-2018 school budget. He concluded by stating there is an overall increase of 2.61% in the budget from last year ($287,391).


Permanent Chairperson Timothy Zellweger asked if anyone had any questions regarding the proposed budget or other items of concern. Two community members asked questions. The first were posed by R. Eakins regarding financing of a school bus and potential complications with diesel school buses. T. Zellweger said he and Mr. Walbridge would look into the resident’s concerns. C. Hayes asked if Junior Varsity Soccer would be maintained. T. Zellweger stated it would be offered again in the 2017-2018 school year, as it had been the past several years. E. Harper explained that he and other community members had raised funds for the past three years to pay for supplies, officials, and transportation costs for Girls’ Junior Varsity Soccer.


T. Zellweger stated that voting on the budget and board member vacancies would take place the following Tuesday, May 16, 2017, between the hours of 1:00 P.M. - 8:00 P.M. It was noted that each person should vote for two (2) candidates.


Motion made by J. Young and seconded by D. Taylor to adjourn the meeting until 1:00 P.M. on Tuesday, May 16, 2017, when the polls would be opened for voting until 8:00 P.M.


The meeting was adjourned at 8:29 P.M.





School District Clerk



12 County Route 47
Parishville, NY 13672
Phone: 315-265-4642
Fax: 315-268-1309

Mission Statement:
The PHCS community strives to instill in all students the knowledge and skills necessary to become caring, conscientious, and creative citizens.

Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer